Skip to main content


New Chair

Introducing Lynne Marcus MSGD

The Society of Garden Designers has announced Lynne Marcus MSGD as its new Chair, replacing Sarah Morgan MSGD who steps down from the role after her three-year tenure.
Lynne is a Registered Member of the Society and has been a Director on the SGD Council since February 2019, during which time she has overseen the running and development of the SGD Awards. She has been a garden designer since 1997, having trained under Professor David Stevens FSGD, after graduating in Politics & Sociology and enjoying a previous career as an HR Director.  Her work is recognisable for its innovative use of space, creative treatment of levels, strong, pared-down layout and the sensitive integration of natural materials and planting.
Lynne will take up the post on 7 September 2020 and will be supported by a new Vice Chair – Andrew Duff MSGD – the current SGD Council Member for Education and the Garden Design Faculty Director & Managing Director at Inchbald School of Design.

Speaking at the time of her appointment, Lynne said: “Sarah Morgan has been an energetic, wise and steadfast advocate for the Society over the last three years, unequivocally promoting good practice, good design and good relations. We have greatly benefitted from her experience, which gave her the vision, authority and integrity to lead the Council and to streamline, strengthen and standardise our Membership adjudication process – arguably the single most important function of a professional body. Sarah is a hard act to follow and luckily for me I will continue to benefit from her advice, as she remains on Council, responsible for adjudication."

View other News




Sign up for future SGD Awards NewsSign up for future Conference News